Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
 Welcome to our latest new user maak ! (Registered 2024-04-18) You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Coding > Spindle/PEF on Windows
2018-03-19 10:24
Raistlin

Spindle/PEF on Windows

Caveats: I'm an old-school C64 programmer that has spent the last 25+ years developing for PC and console, mostly using Visual Studio and simple installers for SDKs etc. No Linux background at all...

So.. I've been developing using Spindle for a month or so now - and loving it. I've been piecing my demo together using Spin.exe, the prebuilt easy-to-use tool LFT made for quickly piecing demos together with Spindle.

I'd now quite like to take a look at PEF - which is better suited for larger productions. I've been doing ok with Spin.exe, manually working out where to place everything, how best to preload etc .. but now might be a good time to look at PEF as my demo starts to get more complicated with overlapping parts.

Downloading MinGW, GnuWin32 and XA, I still kept hitting problems... make.exe complains:-

"cc -Wall -O3 mkheader.c -o mkheader
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, cc -Wall -O3 mkheader.c -o mkheader, ...) failed.
make (e=2): The system cannot find the file specified.
make: *** [mkheader] Error 2"

And firing off GCC manually complains, too.. first of all about <err.h> (changing it to "compat/err.h" helps)... then it complains about data_prgloader - which I assume should be in prgloader.h, which is generated by other compile processes, but which appears to be empty (0 bytes) for me...

"gcc -Wall -O3 -o pef2prg.0 pef2prg.c
"pef2prg.c: In function 'save_prg':
pef2prg.c:88:9: error: 'data_prgloader' undeclared (first use in this function)
fwrite(data_prgloader, sizeof(data_prgloader), 1, f);"

Has anyone successfully built this on Windows..? Any idea how to get the makefile to work correctly..?