Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
 Welcome to our latest new user maak ! (Registered 2024-04-18) You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Coding > NTSC C128 running PAL C64 Demos?
2018-08-25 00:42
alterus

NTSC C128 running PAL C64 Demos?

I was wondering, would it be possible to port PAL C64 demos to the NTSC C128? In 40 column mode, the C128 can provide 2 MHz in the boarders. I'm thinking this might be enough to get many PAL demos working in NTSC land. I'm far from an expert in this area though. What do you guys think?
2018-08-25 04:21
JackAsser

Possibly.

1) Fix raster code to support 64c instead of 63. Most timing loop, if not all, can be fixed

2) Make sure no irqs are trigggered > 263

3) Enable 2mhz in the border to ensure speed code have enough time

However demos with open top/bottom borders will gfx corruption there

So, many demos are probably eaay to fix. But many will require source to fix and some are impossible.

Why even bother?! Make NTSC-demos instead with raster code impossible on PAL..
2018-08-25 14:04
Krill

Quoting JackAsser
Make NTSC-demos instead with raster code impossible on PAL..
Indeed! :) Most NTSC machines even have 65 cycles per rasterline (the later ones).

There is one extra cycle between the right border and sprite 0 fetch on 64-cycle machines and even two more cycles on 65-cycle machines.

This should allow for more sprites with open borders/linecrunch/FLI/whatnot than on PAL-G (without special sprite 0 handling), in addition to having more cycles per rasterline for general code.

PAL-N, though, best of all worlds. :)
2018-08-25 17:05
oziphantom

All 128s are 65 so when you target NTSC 128 you don't have to worry about 64 clock versions ;)