Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Coding > Best practice IRQ recovery
2021-06-10 20:30
Trap

Best practice IRQ recovery

Hi,

Here's a little newbie question. Sorry, I'm still learning this shit and it's really complicated :(

I have kernel off ($01=$35) and I am running IRQ's using the normal $fffe/$ffff vectors.
I want to exit from this and call a prepacked piece of code (in this case something packed with TinyCrunch).

I tried restoring the IRQ vectors and jump to the packer. However, it just hangs. I tried some other things but all gave the same result. The only thing that worked was when I did this:

sei
lda #$36
sta $01
jsr $ff81
jmp unpacker

The problem of course is that it resets the VIC which isn't really great for my situation.

So, my question:

What is the correct/proper way to exit from a part and go to the next? preferably not using kernal routines :|

Thank you.

Trap

... 78 posts hidden. Click here to view all posts....

2021-06-13 10:32
ChristopherJam

so, the following would work, but it's hella overengineered.

Quoting TWW
Yes!
    // Unknown state of VIC/CIA
    sei
    ldx #0
    stx $d01a
    lda #$7f
    sta $dc0d
    sta $dd0d
    cli
    // IRQ May happen here if one was triggered between the SEI and the write to the IRQ reg to diasble them.

Given that you're still allowing the triggered IRQ to go ahead, the only effect of wrapping the above in SEI/CLI is that you're potentially delaying the response to the IRQ to after
the write, hence giving the IRQ handler an opportunity to undo it.

Quote:
    // Unknown state of VIC/CIA
    sei
    lda #0
    sta $d01a
    lda #$7f
    sta $dc0d
    sta $dd0d
    lda $dc0d
    lda $dd0d
    lda #1
    sta $d019
    cli
    // No URQ can trigger now from VIC/CIA.