Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
 Welcome to our latest new user maak ! (Registered 2024-04-18) You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Coding > Best practice IRQ recovery
2021-06-10 20:30
Trap

Best practice IRQ recovery

Hi,

Here's a little newbie question. Sorry, I'm still learning this shit and it's really complicated :(

I have kernel off ($01=$35) and I am running IRQ's using the normal $fffe/$ffff vectors.
I want to exit from this and call a prepacked piece of code (in this case something packed with TinyCrunch).

I tried restoring the IRQ vectors and jump to the packer. However, it just hangs. I tried some other things but all gave the same result. The only thing that worked was when I did this:

sei
lda #$36
sta $01
jsr $ff81
jmp unpacker

The problem of course is that it resets the VIC which isn't really great for my situation.

So, my question:

What is the correct/proper way to exit from a part and go to the next? preferably not using kernal routines :|

Thank you.

Trap

... 78 posts hidden. Click here to view all posts....

2021-06-13 12:23
Copyfault

Quoting ChristopherJam
argh, damn it. Give the possibility of "some other coder's VIC interrupt setting up a CIA interrupt or vise versa" I might actually need to reconsider my stance.

How hostile an environment do I want to guard against is the question I guess..
Ah ok, if the irq vecs have been changed already and need to be readjusted to some new routine, this might become tricky without SEI/CLI. Not completely impossible, but needs careful planning when the hi/lo-vecs are set.

In my former posts, I had a basic startup situation with its standard irqs in mind...
2021-06-13 12:27
Copyfault

Quoting ChristopherJam
Quoting Copyfault