Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Coding > Best practice IRQ recovery
2021-06-10 20:30
Trap

Best practice IRQ recovery

Hi,

Here's a little newbie question. Sorry, I'm still learning this shit and it's really complicated :(

I have kernel off ($01=$35) and I am running IRQ's using the normal $fffe/$ffff vectors.
I want to exit from this and call a prepacked piece of code (in this case something packed with TinyCrunch).

I tried restoring the IRQ vectors and jump to the packer. However, it just hangs. I tried some other things but all gave the same result. The only thing that worked was when I did this:

sei
lda #$36
sta $01
jsr $ff81
jmp unpacker

The problem of course is that it resets the VIC which isn't really great for my situation.

So, my question:

What is the correct/proper way to exit from a part and go to the next? preferably not using kernal routines :|

Thank you.

Trap

... 78 posts hidden. Click here to view all posts....

2021-06-13 19:32
TWW

Quote: Quoting TWW
When the inevitable RTI is executed

We already covered this - the RTI is not at all inevitable if the interrupt in question is just setting up for another interrupt.

If the interrupt in question is just setting up for another interrupt, you do not need to do anything except handle the ongoing *known* interrupt and it's source, assuming you *know* that no other internal interrupts may occur.
2021-06-13 20:27
chatGPZ

You are assuming quite a bit now - wasnt your code about not assuming anything and work always?

Quote:
If the NMI code messes with the stack, the RTI won't work, and chances are any previously running code prior to this would not have worked either.

no?

nmiend:
  bit flag
  bmi notyet
  plp
  and #~4
  php
notyet:
  rti

(yes the working code looks a bit more elaborate, you get the idea)