Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Coding > Best practice IRQ recovery
2021-06-10 20:30
Trap

Best practice IRQ recovery

Hi,

Here's a little newbie question. Sorry, I'm still learning this shit and it's really complicated :(

I have kernel off ($01=$35) and I am running IRQ's using the normal $fffe/$ffff vectors.
I want to exit from this and call a prepacked piece of code (in this case something packed with TinyCrunch).

I tried restoring the IRQ vectors and jump to the packer. However, it just hangs. I tried some other things but all gave the same result. The only thing that worked was when I did this:

sei
lda #$36
sta $01
jsr $ff81
jmp unpacker

The problem of course is that it resets the VIC which isn't really great for my situation.

So, my question:

What is the correct/proper way to exit from a part and go to the next? preferably not using kernal routines :|

Thank you.

Trap
2021-06-10 20:54
TheRyk

F...ing around with $01 reg just to use KERNAL routines is hardly ever worth the trouble if you don't want KERNAL banked in other parts of your code.
Just look into KERNAL ROM routines to see what they do, for example here: http://unusedino.de/ec64/technical/aay/c64/krnromma.htm and then take the few things you need, normally that would be what you find at $EA81 = restoring accumulator and x/y registers and use them somewhere in RAM.
2021-06-10 21:09
Six

Where does it hang, before or after the depacker starts?
2021-06-10 21:34
chatGPZ

Quote:
What is the correct/proper way to exit from a part and go to the next?

that raises the question what you are doing there... a trackmo? classic "press space" stuff?
2021-06-10 21:46
Trap

It crashes before it gets to the unpacking
2021-06-10 21:53
MagerValp