Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Productions > Is 120 the max number of full height sprites that can be displayed?
2002-11-17 17:59
Shadow
Account closed

Is 120 the max number of full height sprites that can be displayed?

I've been on a nostalgia trip and checking out some demos from the real oldschool, record-breaking times. So I started thinking a bit about the world record for most sprites in a multiplexer. I started calculating, and got the following:

8 sprites can be displayed per 21 lines (since a sprite is 21 pixels high). Now you have 256 y-positions available to place sprites on. That should give us 96 or maybe 104 (I wasn't quite sure on this).
Since I saw demos with 112 and even 120 sprites (think it was in Ice Cream Castle/Crest), this couldn't be the limit.
Anyway, I started coding on a little test program and discovered that sprites placed on position $01 to $1e was displayed twice (both in the upper and lower border. I guess this is common knowledge, but I've been out of the loop for a while!)
Now, those $1e lines gives us the possibility to display two batches of 8 sprites that essentially gets doubled, thus we have 104+116 = 120 sprites as the absolute maximum.
Is this correct reasoning? Any oldtimer hardware specialits who can shed some light on this?

... 67 posts hidden. Click here to view all posts....

2003-01-19 20:25
DanPhillips

Quote: Hehe, up to now I thought Armalyte used some hyper-optimized, unrolled multiplexer interrupt for the bosses, because there was never any kind of error.. Only now I realize there wasn't enough sprites to cause errors at all! :)

The bosses used 16 sprites max in total, plus 4 for enemy
bullets.

It was the skill with which they were used that allways
impressed me :-)

Dan
Lead Programmer Arma...thing.
2003-02-02 22:45
Graham