Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
 Welcome to our latest new user maak ! (Registered 2024-04-18) You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Composing > Goattracker on a real C64
2014-02-04 03:40
kulor
Account closed

Goattracker on a real C64

I've been looking all over trying to find the answer to this, but to no avail.
I'm pretty new to C64 composing, and I finally have a real C64 to render tunes out on. The issue is, as expected, the filtering sounds completely different in GT compared to the real deal.
I really like GT and would prefer to use it as my tracker instead of learning some native platform tracker. What I'd like to do is use some native program on the C64 to figure out filter values to plug into GT. I don't care if it sounds different in GT, as long as I can get the same sound when I play back the SID on my real C64.
The issue is, GT seems to use some 8-bit value for filter cutoff, whereas the C64 seems to actually use more bits for its cutoff registers (11-bit IIRC?).
Is there a native program that uses GT-style 8-bit values for filter cutoff, or at the very least could anyone provide some info on how the GT values are plugged into the 11-bit cutoff register?
Any help is appreciated, and apologies in advance for any technical details that I butchered!
2014-02-04 05:44
Saxxon
Account closed

The reason why 8-bit values are used instead of 11-bit values is because the other 3 bits wouldn't make much of an audible difference, I suspect. Just the most significant 8 bits are used. In this case it's a range of 2048 values in steps of 8. Plenty accurate for a song.

Filters are going to sound way different even between different models of C64. I have some songs that sound fantastic in emulation, but my 64's filters are so dark that low pass makes things near inaudible.