Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > Requests > Help with coding newschool routines.
2007-01-14 01:44
Conrad

Help with coding newschool routines.

Hi there.

Recently I have joined the c64 scene and I would like to start to learn how these new type of routines work.

As a coder, I can only manage to do old school routines such as raster bars, side border, FLD and various others. As for new routines like 3D, checkerboards, plasmas, etc... I am completely baffled with how they work, but am very eager to learn how they work.

I have in the past read various articles about demo coding, but they don't really provide the info I need.

Any volunteers to help me will be much appreciated!
Thanks, CRD.

... 19 posts hidden. Click here to view all posts....

2007-01-15 12:31
Cruzer

I think the major difference between oldskool and newskool effects is that with oldskool fx you basically just need to understand how the C64 works, and with newskool fx you also have to understand an underlying algorithm.

E.g. FLD vs RotoZoom. For FLD the algorithm is pretty simple: Move gfx up/down. Nothing to understand there, so you just need to understand how the computer (i.e. CPU and gfx chip) works.

For RotoZoom you also have to understand the algorithm of rotozooming, i.e. that you have a texture source that you look up in based on traversing some vectors, before you can start coding it. And to make a good looking rotozoomer on C64, it's also necessary to know something about some optimization techniques like loop unrolling, look-up tables etc.

So to summarize, you should learn something about:

1. How the C64 works
2. The algorithms of newskool fx
3. Optimization tricks
2007-01-15 13:13
Conrad

Apart from "real-time" routines, are newschool effects usually done outside the IRQ? In other words, i mean....