Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > Requests > Help with coding newschool routines.
2007-01-14 01:44
Conrad

Help with coding newschool routines.

Hi there.

Recently I have joined the c64 scene and I would like to start to learn how these new type of routines work.

As a coder, I can only manage to do old school routines such as raster bars, side border, FLD and various others. As for new routines like 3D, checkerboards, plasmas, etc... I am completely baffled with how they work, but am very eager to learn how they work.

I have in the past read various articles about demo coding, but they don't really provide the info I need.

Any volunteers to help me will be much appreciated!
Thanks, CRD.

... 20 posts hidden. Click here to view all posts....

2007-01-17 14:39
Oswald

dycps, plotters, liners are middleskool :P ;)
2007-01-17 15:00
Cruzer

Oldskool/newskool is definitely too simple. In my view there has been 4 major "skools" in the C64 scene history:
- CracktroSkool: The first demos were clearly very inspired by cracktros with scrolls, swinging logos and rasterbars. With time these effects progressed into more complex versions, e.g. DYCPs instead of normal scrollers, tech-tech instead of a swinging logo, rastersplits instead of a normal rasterbar, etc.
- AmigaSkool: The next step was trying to convert effects known from Amiga, such as filled vector, vectorballs and plasma to C64.
- PCskool: RotoZoomers, bumpmapping, texturemapping, etc.
- ArtSkool: Who cares about routines, it's the message/story of the demo that counts.
2007-01-17 15:07
Scout

Quote:
- ArtSkool: Who cares about routines, it's the message/story of the demo that counts.

But also the use of *skool effects in a creative/other way.
2007-01-17 15:37
Oswald