Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Pixeling > Khaos Sphere Marc Bell bitmap - feedback pls
2018-05-12 23:05
JayAldred
Account closed

Khaos Sphere Marc Bell bitmap - feedback pls

Hey guys, I thought I would post here to show results from working on the pic. Looking for feedback pls. I am not really an artist, but wanted to try a bitmap. Hopefully I can get one of the games artists to work on this if they have time before release.

https://i.imgur.com/ddePGKZ.png
2018-05-13 00:26
Compyx

As others have mentioned, it looks very wired (converted from an existing picture).

The dithering needs a lot of work to make it look 'proper', and the face seems tacked on somehow.

Background looks really nice though with the interleaved colors instead of dithering.
2018-05-13 00:41
JayAldred
Account closed

Aye, I'm struggling with it, trying to get a uniform feel, the scanned face is kind of awkward. I have hand shaded all of the outfit, but tried to make it work with the face. This may well be a bit too ambitious for me!
2018-05-13 03:03
Deev

The reason the face looks dropped on is because it has less contrast and a different light source.

The light source on the face is coming from the front/left. On the suit, your light source is actually a little inconsistent.

As the face is the hardest bit to get right, you might want to stick with the face you have, then re-do the suit around it. Don't do any detail initially though, just sketch it out in chunks of colour, thinking about where the light is coming from the whole time. Even with a rough version, if you get the lighting right, the face and the suit will start fit together.
2018-05-13 12:31
Hend
Account closed

I have a suggestion.