Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
 Welcome to our latest new user maak ! (Registered 2024-04-18) You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > CSDb Entries > Release id #219898 : Shipwar II
2022-07-22 08:38
TheRyk

Release id #219898 : Shipwar II

Moved here from Comments

Quote:
User Comment
Submitted by hedning [PM] on 22 July 2022
I don't believe this is by NATO, as the content on this Swedish disk (Gekko's old disk) is from 86-87 something.

===
How sure is Iron anyway?

NATO had some Iron Dragon but that one was from US, would definetely not have confused ship and chip.

My guess is, the dude is from some completely different "NATO", probably _not_ North Atlantic Trading Organization (USA) either.
@"Swedish disk"... well, it probably can't talk to us and I'm not an expert in SWEnglish
BUT:
Packed with Compacker/The ACC (German group) plus the terrible DEnglish ("yes, you have right" instead of "yes, you are right") might point to German origin, only some smartassing guesswork, too, however.
2022-07-22 08:51
hedning

Yes. It's, as said, probably some other unknown NATO. And the DEnglish checks out as perfect SWEnglish too. Iron could of course be some other Iron, but my guess is still the Swedish Iron. I'll remove the Swedish Iron for now, but I will explain how I came up with my guess:

The disk was once Gekko's (tagged), and the rest of the content on the disk is Swedish. Gekko and Nashua (who's stuff is also on the disk) are also greeting "Iron of NATO" in their 1987 demos Master Demo 1 and Star Paws Demo. Nashua lived in Skövde, 19 km from Iron btw.

A-side had stuff from Swedish member Mr.Gurk of The Coca Cola Crackers, a German group, with Swedish members as well, obviously, if we are not dealing with two different CCC here: One German, and one Swedish CCC (With members Mr.Zerox and Mr.Gurk).