Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Pixeling > Tools for beginner
2007-08-04 11:33
Dr. 8 Bit
Account closed

Tools for beginner

Hi guys!! I'm totally new here... :P
I would like to make a logo and...can anyone tell me some tools for beginner??
other question...there is something like "LOGO FOR DUMMIES"?? or a guide for beginner?
thanks a lot guyz!!

... 50 posts hidden. Click here to view all posts....

2008-04-22 23:54
Sampaguita
Account closed

I'm new to this topic too. I did some graphics some 20 years ago, so it's like return from start. I kinda remember that Amica Paint und Paint Magic were running pretty smooth, but as I have no idea what is expected/required/prefered I wanted to hear what you would recommend as starting package. I don't want to use PhotoShop and converters, but create the images (old style) handmade.

Are there any technical things I should read before (any wikis or such) to get a better idea of how c64 graphics work? Are there any manuals around for at least 1 or 2 more common painting tools? I still have alot of time til my first promised deadline (late december = tUM), so I think I can take my time for this. :)

Furthermore... do I have to use an original C64 (I still have a C64G), or would it be better/more efficient to use an emulator (which one? VICE or CCS64?)? I already found a tool to reconfigure all the keys, to be able to use my PC-keyboard instead of a Joystick. :D

Thanks!
2008-04-23 10:04
Archmage

Sampaguita: I don't know about wikis, but I learned a lot from this: Breakpoint 06 c64 Graphics Seminar

If you want to do pictures on da real thing, I recommend getting hold of a C1351 mouse and to use Pixel Perfect: http://noname.c64.org/csdb/release/?id=57070. Alternatively, you can use the same program in an emulator with a pc mouse (I think).