Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Coding > Creating angle/radius tables
2006-08-21 07:34
Shadow
Account closed

Creating angle/radius tables

Is there a size-optimized way of getting a angle and radius table? It's easy enough to just precalc like this (pseudocode):

for(int x=0;x<w;x++)
{
for(int y=0;y<h;y++)
{
radius[tab]=sqrt((x-w/2)*(x-w/2)+(y-h/2)*(y-h/2));
angle[tab]=atan2(y-h/2,x-w/2)/PI);
tab++;
}
}

But what if you don't want to have the whole table precalced due to size concerns? Can you save space with some smart mirrortricks, etc.?

... 13 posts hidden. Click here to view all posts....

2006-08-22 09:39
Oswald

Quote: only teh lam0rxz rip!

Im a shit coder, but at least everything Ive written is mine alone.

hahaha, then every good coder is a lam0rxz :-)

I dont mean byte by byte ripping man, but you can get a general idea about the algorythm and tricks if u look at ones code, and most of the time you can find stuff to improve. Then you write ur own and better code from scratch. If u are an experienced coder there's not much things under the sun to steal, coz u know all the tricks anyway.

These days, (altho its happening now very rarely) I check the code to see what method was used, and how good was it done. Often its hard to say how fast this or that would be, but if you find a demo using a similar effect, then u might peek the code and get an idea of the code-onscreenspeed ratio.
2006-08-22 10:53
Jetboy

Tere is quite a difference between peeking at someones code, and reimplementing it your way, and just plain ripping.

There were no sources in the 80's/early 90's to learn from. All you had back then was C64 Refernece Guide. If you wanted to get some knowledge, the only way was peeking at someone else's code, or reinvent the wheel yourself.