Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Coding > TAsm and .text tables
2009-09-19 03:37
clonK
Account closed

TAsm and .text tables

Hi.
I use Soundemon's version of TAsm on my 1541U and I've been trying to work out the best way to enter '.text' tables in it. They don't seem to convert into screen codes which line up with the char set. I've tried various things, like subtracting #$40 from each character I pull from the table, but that just inverts the background colour. I've spent the past 4 hours trying to work it out :P I'm wondering the best way for this to be done. This is a total noob question because, well, I'm a total noob when it comes to C64 programming, but I've been dabbling recently. I made an SDI tune that I've written (fudged together) a very simple interrupt player for but I'm trying to add text to the screen and came accross this problem. I noticed that other assemblers use '.scr' which, apparently, converts correctly and I was wondering how I should do it with TAsm.
Thanks for any help.

p.s. quick question... when is a player a player? I mean... I assembled my tune using the SDI player code, but now I have a simple interrupt program which calls the tune at $1000, $1009, etc... So, which is the player... technically speaking?
i'm confused ?:¬
2009-09-19 06:31
Angel of Death

Don't know that application. Can you tell me what it is and/or where to take a look at it...
2009-09-19 06:33
Radiant

I don't remember ever having used .text for anything working. Usually when I coded on the real machine I just entered the text directly in the monitor, or put in the screencodes by hand using the C64 manual.

The player is basically the code you call at $1000 et al.
2009-09-19 06:56
Angel of Death

Found it. (should log in more often and actually read something :))