Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > CSDb Discussions > MMC64 beginner question!
2010-04-04 13:33
ElCharro
Account closed

MMC64 beginner question!

Hello,

I am new at MMC 64. I would use it on my C128 and 1570 drive.
I have no clue how to have an action replay installed on it.
I have just installed several plug ins in order to have a D64 Reader or D64 Writer the ones to read and write D64 images.
I just want to know how to have a fast load or an Action Reaply installed on my SD Memory!

Thanks to all who would replay to me and Happy Easter to everybody on CSDb!
2010-04-04 17:44
vedos
Account closed

You can't use AR6 or 1541 Ultimate (in a way as in Retro Replay). The hardware isn't designed that way.

If you want to use Action Replay you must have *real* Action Replay cartridge and plug it in the MMC64 like in this picture: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_7yyxUaJwIDc/S6BKnNGAGfI/AAAAAAAAABU/A..

If you wanna fastload stuff from your drive (even AR6's floppy fastload doesn't work when plugged to MMC64 :() you must use software fastloaders.

There are loads of them. I really don't know which is the fastest one, but currently I'm using MMC Boot (MMC No Blocks Boot). Ermmm... Someday I gotta gather shitloads of fastloaders and make a little speed and usability comparisation of them. :)

I just installed the boot on some disk and saved the fastloader with a name "MMC BOOT" to disk and transferred it to MMC card. Here's a direct link to it: http://pulshu2.no-ip.com/~draft/mmcboot.prg

After that I made a directory called ! where I placed the mmcboot.prg. TNT's MMC64 browser will show the ! directory as first so it's always easy and fast to load the fastloader when you wanna use it.